NaNoWriMo: Don’t Cry For Me, I’m Already Ahead

So I failed NaNoWriMo. I scored 42,000 wordsthat’s 8,000 shy of my 50,000 target, for any of you who don’t do maths. I also took two weeks off since because I bought a PS4 and Destiny is superb.

Well boo-fucking-hoo.

I don’t see it as 8,000 words short, but 42,000 words over. I started with zero, and without NaNoWriMo and its relentless beating of the writing drum, I would still be at zero. Although I’d probably have one or two more excuses, which are always handy.

The plan is to forget the open submissions of some of the prominent science fiction publishers in January and aim for March instead. That gives me somewhere in the region of 57,000 words if I do 1,000 per day, from today. That’s highly doable (TWSS). And all I’m saying about the novel right now is it’s post-human. That’s all folks.

So that’s the plan. To hopefully have a publishable novel by March. In the meantime, I’ll be upping the reviews, penning some short stories (and maybe some poetry, if I’m feeling sick), and doing some of these rambling posts. I’ll also try to do some opinion, which will probably be on and off science fiction, fantasy and horror, but we’ll see. Oh and eventsthere will be lots of those.

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo: Don’t Cry For Me, I’m Already Ahead”

Leave a Reply

