NaNoWriMo Ramblings: Writing’s Hard

Nobody told me it was so difficult to publish a novel. Sure, authors are forever warning how difficult it is to put pen to page, editors are bemoaning authors’ inability to comprehend edits and publishers are only accepting submissions from authors and agents they know. I heard these warnings but failed to heed them, because I was happy being a consumer-reader who was the worst of all. If I’m hungry, I want to be fed. If I see some all-shiny, all-dancing thing, I want it. Immediately. Do not give me excuses, I don’t want to hear your ‘buts’. I. Want. My. Fucking. Book. Now.

The problem is this: a novel isn’t a multi-functional action figure manufactured on a production line. There is no process for putting it together. There is no ten steps to success in this business. There is only hard work, talent, relationships and patience. So much patience.

I am participating in this year’s NaNoWriMo and peddling my brand of crap for the first time. Because it is crap. The first draft is the worst draft—it rhymes because it’s true. And to perfect and polish it into something I can sell is going to take time. Patience and time. So much time. But it will get better, because each draft will yield a better novel, one that I will be able to sell to someone. I just need to heed those warnings. And finish these first 50,000 words. And then redraft and redraft and redraft and redraft and redraft and redraft and redraft and redraft and redraft and redraft and redraft and redraft and redraft and redraft and redraft and redraft and redra … that’s just this year.

Leave a Reply

